Tags

, ,

Usually when this happens, I don’t write in my blog and just skip a day. Maybe the cold front that is passing over Johannesburg has frozen my brain cells. I don’t even have a single creative thought for this “Sunday’s Surprise”. And that article that I want to write on African violets is going nowhere too.

There has been a lot on my mind, though. Mostly about our hobo friend that arrived on our doorstep a few weeks ago.

His name is Andre. He ended up helping us with security until early last week. The builders next door took longer than anticipated erecting the wall between our properties. We wanted to employ him on a more permanent basis, but needed to run a security check and help him get his ID book. Between all of this “P.E. #2” and his sidekick raised a concern – after having him around for how long – that they did not want him sleeping in the house while they knew nothing about him.

The sad part is, neither of them took the time to chat and get to know him. But they were quite willing to tell him to do odd jobs when they saw him. Obviously, Andre saw what was happening and started giving them the cold shoulder. Honestly, I don’t blame him.

So, when the story about sleeping arrangements arose, he got up and left. He said he would be back in a couple days and take things from there. When he did not come back on Thursday, the general belief was that he would not come back at all. He did, however, return on Friday, long enough to fetch the rest of his belongings and say that he would rather not work with us.

I am a little disappointed. I enjoyed our chats and I liked the fact that we were able to help someone that was down on his luck.

At the same time, I am wondering why. Was it the trouble with “P.E. #2”, or did it have to do with him living on the street so long that he did not want to be tied down in one location? I guess I may never know.

